Four instruments, four counting rules

By 2025 a large share of the disclosed capital in quantum technology came from public markets. Those events are real capital, but they are not venture rounds, and a table that treats them identically produces a misleading picture of how the industry is financed.

Data cutoff 2026-11Page generated 2026-11-05

What each instrument actually is

An IPO or STAR Market listing records proceeds from a first public sale of shares. A SPAC merger may be announced long before it is priced, and the announcement itself has no cash value. An at-the-market programme is an authorisation to issue shares up to a ceiling over time. A follow-on public equity offering is a discrete later sale of shares. Our round field preserves that wording instead of normalising all four into a generic funding round.

This is why two rows for the same company in the same year are not automatically duplicates. A listing and a later offering are genuinely different events; an announcement and a priced close of the same merger usually are not. The de-duplication rule is applied to reports, not to instruments.

Why we keep them

Deleting public-market rows would make the ranking look more like a venture database, but it would understate the capital available to the companies that actually build hardware. It would also create a strange discontinuity: a company would appear in the table while private and vanish once listed. Keeping the rows with an instrument label is the only option that lets a reader construct either view.

The government capital tracker and the annual reviews both use the same classification, so a figure quoted from one page can be traced back to the same row on another.

The comparison rule

If you compare a private Series B with an ATM ceiling, say so. If you want a private-capital-only comparison, exclude the public instruments and note the exclusion in your citation. We do not provide a single toggle that silently changes the total, because the instrument mix is part of the finding rather than a filter to be hidden.

Public-market instruments currently recorded in the ledger

11 rows in the current ledger match this column's classification. Each row keeps its source and instrument label.

CompanyInstrument & dateDisclosed amountSource
QuantumCTek STAR Market IPO
2020-07 · China
~$130M SSE STAR Market filings, Chinese mediahow to verify ↗
IonQ SPAC listing
2021-11 · United States
~$650M SEC filings, market coveragehow to verify ↗
D-Wave Quantum Equity offering
2025-01 · North America
~$150M company announcementhow to verify ↗
Infleqtion SPAC merger (announced)
2025-02 · United States
Not disclosed company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
Horizon Quantum Computing SPAC merger (announced)
2025-04 · Asia-Pacific
Not disclosed company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
D-Wave Quantum ATM program
2025-06 · North America
~$400M company announcementhow to verify ↗
Rigetti Computing ATM program
2025-06 · United States
~$350M company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
IonQ Public equity offering
2025-07 · United States
~$1B SEC filing coverage, Business Wirehow to verify ↗
Pasqal Spac
2026-03-05 · Europe
Not disclosed⚡ unverified source ↗how to verify ↗
SpinQ Pre-ipo
2026-04-03 · China
~$84M⚡ unverified source ↗how to verify ↗
Quantinuum Ipo
2026-06-03 · United States
~$1.7B⚡ unverified source ↗how to verify ↗

The practical takeaway

The instrument field is not decoration. It is the difference between a defensible funding table and a number that changes meaning every time someone reads it.

More from the research desk

Global funding ranking ↗Company profiles ↗Methodology ↗Scan log ↗

Compiled by QuantumRoundup Research Desk · Reviewed by the Editorial Desk (per-event verification status is shown on the timeline)

Data cutoff (latest reviewed event): 2026-11 (month precision) · Page generated: 2026-11-05 · Editorial policy · Corrections log · Methodology