2025: when public-market instruments took over

This is the year the totals stop being a venture-capital story. Alongside a genuinely enormous private Series E and several large growth rounds, the 2025 ledger contains public equity offerings, at-the-market programmes, SPAC merger announcements and a late-stage spin-out financing. Adding them all into one column produces a big number that means several different things at once.

Data cutoff 2026-11Page generated 2026-11-05

Four instruments hiding inside one total

PsiQuantum's Series E is priced venture capital. IonQ's public equity offering is cash raised in the capital markets by an already-listed company. Rigetti and D-Wave disclose ATM programmes, which are authorisations to issue shares up to a ceiling rather than a single closing. Infleqtion and Horizon Quantum announce SPAC mergers with no cash value attached at our cutoff. All four appear in the same year table, and only two of them are comparable to each other.

We keep them together because the alternative — quietly dropping the inconvenient rows — would make every regional comparison flatter and less truthful. But we label the instrument on every row and repeat the counting rule in the methodology. A reader who wants a venture-only view should filter on instrument type, not on year.

Concentration, and what it is not evidence of

A small number of very large 2025 rows account for most of that year's disclosed capital. It is tempting to read this as investors converging on a winning architecture. The instrument breakdown argues against that: the largest figures come from companies that already had access to public markets or from one fab-aligned private round, not from a broad repricing of every quantum modality. Meanwhile the same year contains a long tail of Series B rounds at a tenth of the size.

The honest phrasing is that capital became more concentrated in 2025, not that technical consensus formed. We do not have valuation data for most of these rows, so any claim about which company the market considered most promising would go beyond what the ledger supports.

The disclosure quality problem got worse

2025 is also the first year in which automated news monitoring contributes a meaningful share of our rows. Several reports describe the same round with different wording and occasionally different amounts. The publication layer merges those before this page is generated; the raw reports remain in the JSON ledger. Rows that have not yet been checked by an editor carry a visible ⚡ flag and a clickable source URL.

That distinction is not cosmetic. A year table that counted twelve syndicated headlines as twelve financings would overstate both the event count and the total. The de-duplication column explains the merge rule in detail, and the scan log shows what the last automated run actually found.

Every 2025 financing in the current ledger

Computed on this build: 14 published financings dated 2025, 12 with a disclosed cash amount and 2 with none. Disclosed cash across those rows totals about $4.8B. The largest single row is IonQ at $1B; 0 rows are classified as policy instruments and 6 as public-market instruments. Programmes and letters of intent contribute zero to this sum.

CompanyInstrument & dateDisclosed amountSource
Alice & Bob Series B
2025-01 · Europe
~$105M Sifted, TechCrunchhow to verify ↗
D-Wave Quantum Equity offering
2025-01 · North America
~$150M company announcementhow to verify ↗
QuEra Computing Series B
2025-01 · United States
~$230M TechCrunch, The Boston Globehow to verify ↗
Infleqtion SPAC merger (announced)
2025-02 · United States
Not disclosed company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
Horizon Quantum Computing SPAC merger (announced)
2025-04 · Asia-Pacific
Not disclosed company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
SandboxAQ Late-stage round
2025-04 · United States
~$450M TechCrunch, Reutershow to verify ↗
D-Wave Quantum ATM program
2025-06 · North America
~$400M company announcementhow to verify ↗
Rigetti Computing ATM program
2025-06 · United States
~$350M company announcement, market coveragehow to verify ↗
IonQ Public equity offering
2025-07 · United States
~$1B SEC filing coverage, Business Wirehow to verify ↗
IQM Quantum Computers Series B
2025-09 · Europe
~$320M MIT QIR Insights, Scaling Europe, company announcementhow to verify ↗
PsiQuantum Series E
2025-09 · United States
~$1B Reuters, TechCrunch, company announcementhow to verify ↗
Quantinuum Growth round
2025-09 · United States
~$600M Reuters, Bloomberghow to verify ↗
Nu Quantum Reported raise
2025-12-10 · Europe
~$60M⚡ unverified source ↗how to verify ↗
Quantum Art Series a
2025-12-10 · Middle East
~$100M⚡ unverified source ↗how to verify ↗

The practical takeaway

The practical lesson for anyone citing 2025: state which instrument you counted. A sentence that says quantum companies raised a certain amount in 2025 is only defensible if it also says whether ATM ceilings and listing proceeds are inside that number.

More from the research desk

Global funding ranking ↗Company profiles ↗Methodology ↗Scan log ↗

Compiled by QuantumRoundup Research Desk · Reviewed by the Editorial Desk (per-event verification status is shown on the timeline)

Data cutoff (latest reviewed event): 2026-11 (month precision) · Page generated: 2026-11-05 · Editorial policy · Corrections log · Methodology